Thanksgiving Things

Please acknowledge that I waited a whole day after Halloween to start talking about Thanksgiving.

Someday I will have my own house. It will be beautiful but homey and I will throw an amazing Thanksgiving celebration there.

There will be homemade cinnamon rolls fresh from the oven for breakfast, Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade-watching in pajamas, and my turkey will come out perfect without me even having to touch it. This is totally realistic, right?

Oh, no? Okay, fine, I guess I’ll enjoy being the guest on Thanksgiving until I do have to be in charge one day and will most likely be a frantic, nervous mess all day, instead of the Martha Stewart-esque version of myself in my fantasy.

But being the guest doesn’t mean I can’t bring a few dishes, right? Here’s what I’m choosing between this year.

Caramelized Brussel Sprouts

Everyone likes brussel sprouts if you cook them in brown sugar.

Macaroni and Cheese

I had a vegetarian friend in high school and her family’s main event on Thanksgiving was mac and cheese and since then I’ve always wondered why on Earth ALL Thanksgivings don’t involve mac and cheese.

Cloverleaf Rolls

Last year I made crescent rolls. From scratch. And they were amazing. (Still proud). But I don’t exactly have a full day to make those again so I picked something new. And absolutely adorable.

Browned Butter Bourbon Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Do you see all those delicious words??

Butter-Roasted Carrots

I came across this Cooking Light recipe earlier this year and although its totally simple, it’s one of the best roasted veggie recipes I’ve ever tasted. I don’t know if it’s the way the carrots are cut or the addition of butter, but these come out perfectly every time and take half the amount of time it’s always taken me to roast carrots.

Of course, no Thanksgiving is complete without green bean casserole, regular mashed potatoes, stuffing and uh, that one other thing. Right, turkey. I could do without that part.

************************

What is your fantasy Thanksgiving like?

Are you cooking/baking anything for Thanksgiving?

What’s your least favorite Thanksgiving dish?

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Things

Leave a comment